Pacific Encounters
Pacific Source

Retour

FIRST and EARLY ENCOUNTERS between Pacific Peoples and Europeans
English version Version Française
Pacific Dialogues
Pacific Encounters :  FIRST and EARLY ENCOUNTERS between Pacific Peoples and Europeans
Toutes les photos (Grand format)
Pacifique Sources
Sciences sociale Pacifique
Sciences sociale Pacifique


 
…The first two parts of the project, concerning Samoa and Tahiti, are the result of a research program associating the Cross-Cultural Voyaging in the Pacific 1595-1795 Project (University of Auckland) and CREDO (www.pacific-credo.fr), directed by Dame Professor Anne Salmond and Serge Tcherkezoff respectively. Financial support was provided by these institutions, by the French Ministry of Foreign Affairs (Permanent Secretariat for the Pacific), through its Pacific Economic, Social and Cultural Fund, and by the French Embassy in New Zealand.

The period of first encounters between a Pacific population and Europeans begins at the moment of first contact, often at sea, even before the first landing was made. As a consequence, the notion of "first contact" should be broadened to include what the local inhabitants may have heard from their neighbours concerning Europeans, even before they themselves had the opportunity to make first direct contact with these visitors (see Jolly, Tryon & Tcherkezoff eds 2009: Prelude). The period of first encounters ends when European presence became permanent, with the installation of the first traders and missionaries.

In the case of Samoa, where the first landing was made by the French, these accounts are also presented in an English translation. In the case of Tahiti, all of the English accounts, beginning with the famous Samuel Wallis, whose journal has been inaccessible until now, are also presented in a French translation. Samoa and Tahiti have been the first archipelagos involved to this point as a result of the expertise of the directors of this first program on these islands (Salmond 2004, 2009, 2011) and Tcherkezoff (2004a, 2004b, 2008). Depending on funding obtained, other Polynesian island groups will be included, in collaboration with the same partners, together with the University of French Polynesia and other New Zealand universities.

With these and other institutional partners in the Pacific, historical accounts of other Pacific countries will be brought together. The next activities planned concern Vanuatu and New Caledonia, with the support of the VKS (http://www.vanuatuculture.org) and research institutions in New Caledonia (CNEP-UNC, ADCK, Museum, Archaeological Institute etc), as well as the beginning of programs in Micronesia and Australia.



References:

Jolly, Margaret et al. 2009: http://epress.anu.edu.au/oceanic_encounters_citation.html
Salmond, Anne, 2003 (http://www.penguin.com.au/products/9780141021331/trial-cannibal-dog-captain-cook-south-seas), 2009 (http://www.penguin.com.au/products/9780670073962/aphrodites-island-european-discovery-tahiti), 2011 (http://www.ucpress.edu/book.php?isbn=9780520270565).
Tcherkezoff, Serge, 2004a (http://epress.anu.edu.au/first_contacts_citation.html), 2004b (http://www.auventdesiles.pf/notre-catalogue/42-culture-oceanienne/400-tahiti-1768-jeunes-filles-en-pleurs-la-face-cachee-des-premiers-contacts-et-la-naissance-du-mythe-occidental.html), 2008 (http://www.auventdesiles.pf/notre-catalogue/42-culture-oceanienne/386-polynesiemelanesie-linvention-francaise-des-qracesq-et-des-regions-de-loceanie-xvie-xxe-siecles.html)
   
  Back
Sciences sociale Pacifique
Sciences sociale Pacifique Sciences sociale Pacifique Sciences sociale Pacifique
Cartographie ancienne et moderne
  Pacific maps, historical and
contemporary
Cartographie ancienne et moderne
  Centres and researchers participating
and other related programmes


   
Top Top
PACIFIC ENCOUNTERS
This website gives access to historical sources gathered with the support of: Pacific Dialogues | EHESS | ANU | Ambassade de France | Secrétariat Permanent pour le Pacifique |
University of Auckland | CREDO | CNRS | Université de Provence | CNEP | University of Canterbury | Vanuatu Cultural Centre | USP | CIRAP
Pacific dialogues en Français English Pacific Dialogues  Copyright Site web Globedesign © 2011

Pacific Encounters
Pacific Source

Retour

Premières rencontres entre Peuples du PAcifique et Européens
English version Version Française
Pacific Dialogues
Pacific Encounters :  Premières rencontres entre Peuples du PAcifique et Européens
Toutes les photos (Grand format)
Pacifique Sources
Sciences sociale Pacifique
Sciences sociale Pacifique


 
…Les deux premières opérations, qui concernent SAMOA et TAHITI, résultent d’un programme de recherche qui a associé le « Cross-Cultural Voyaging in the Pacific 1595-1795 » de l’Université d’Auckland et le CREDO (www.pacific-credo.fr), sous les directions respectives de Dame Prof. Anne Salmond et de Serge Tcherkézoff. Le soutien financier fut assuré par ces laboratoires, par le Fonds de coopération économique, sociale et culturelle pour le Pacifique du Ministère français des Affaires Etrangères (Secrétariat Permanent pour le Pacifique) et par l’Ambassade de France en Nouvelle-Zélande.

La période des premières rencontres entre un peuple du Pacifique et les Européens commence au moment du premier contact, souvent en mer, avant même qu’il n’y ait eu la première visite à terre. Par conséquent, la notion de « premier contact » doit être largement relativisée et inclure ce que les habitants du lieu ont pu entendre de leurs voisins à propos des Européens, avant qu’eux-mêmes n’aient l’occasion de faire face la première fois à ces visiteurs (voir Jolly, Tryon & Tcherkezoff eds 2009 : Prelude). Les premières rencontres se terminent quand la présence des Européens devient permanente : premiers commerçants installés et premiers missionnaires.

Dans le cas de Samoa où la première visite à terre est le fait des Français, l’ensemble des récits est présenté aussi en traduction anglaise. Dans le cas de Tahiti, l’ensemble des récits anglais, à commencer par celui du célèbre Wallis dont le journal, pourtant, demeurait inaccessible jusqu’ici, sont présentés aussi en traduction française. Samoa et Tahiti sont les premiers archipels concernés en raison de l’expertise des responsables de ce premier programme sur ces archipels (Salmond 2004, 2009, 2011 ; Tcherkézoff 2004a, 2004b, 2008). Suivant les soutiens qui seront obtenus, d’autres archipels polynésiens seront étudiés, en collaboration avec les mêmes partenaires, ainsi qu'avec l’Université de Polynésie française et les autres Universités de Nouvelle-Zélande.

Avec les mêmes et d’autres partenaires institutionnels, dans le Pacifique, les récits concernant d’autres pays du Pacifique seront rassemblés. Les prochaines opérations projetées concernent le Vanuatu et la Nouvelle-Calédonie, avec le soutien du VKS (http://www.vanuatuculture.org/) et des institutions de recherche de la Nouvelle Calédonie (CNEP-UNC, ADCK, Musée, Institut d’archéologie, etc.), ainsi qu’un début de programme en Micronésie et en Australie.



Références:

Jolly, Margaret et al. 2009: http://epress.anu.edu.au/oceanic_encounters_citation.html
Salmond, Anne, 2003 (http://www.penguin.com.au/products/9780141021331/trial-cannibal-dog-captain-cook-south-seas), 2009 (http://www.penguin.com.au/products/9780670073962/aphrodites-island-european-discovery-tahiti), 2011 (http://www.ucpress.edu/book.php?isbn=9780520270565).
Tcherkezoff, Serge, 2004a (http://epress.anu.edu.au/first_contacts_citation.html), 2004b (http://www.auventdesiles.pf/notre-catalogue/42-culture-oceanienne/400-tahiti-1768-jeunes-filles-en-pleurs-la-face-cachee-des-premiers-contacts-et-la-naissance-du-mythe-occidental.html), 2008 (http://www.auventdesiles.pf/notre-catalogue/42-culture-oceanienne/386-polynesiemelanesie-linvention-francaise-des-qracesq-et-des-regions-de-loceanie-xvie-xxe-siecles.html)
   
  Retour
Sciences sociale Pacifique
Sciences sociale Pacifique Sciences sociale Pacifique Sciences sociale Pacifique
Cartographie ancienne et moderne
  Cartographie ancienne et moderne

Cartographie ancienne et moderne
  Centres et chercheurs participants,
autres programmes sur ce thème
   
Top Top
PACIFIC ENCOUNTERS
Ce site présente les sources historiques recueillies avec l'aide de : Pacific Dialogues | EHESS | ANU | Ambassade de France | Secrétariat Permanent pour le Pacifique |
University of Auckland | CREDO | CNRS | Université de Provence | CNEP | University of Canterbury | Vanuatu Cultural Centre | USP | CIRAP
Pacific dialogues en Français English Pacific Dialogues  Copyright Pacific Encounters - Site web Globedesign © 2011